Guess Who’s Back

HEYWHATSUPYOUGUYS

Just kidding. I’m not Shane Dawson. But HELLO FRIENDS! It’s me, your friendly neighborhood ~blogger~. And by blogger I mean, occasional blogger.

But I’m happy to be BACK! And with a new look. I realized that my style has changed over the past couple years since I started this blog, so I decided to give the old gal a little ~aesthetic~ makeover to better suit my personality.

So a LOT has happened in the last few months since I last blogged, and I am thrilled to sit down and write all about it.

FIRST MAJOR THING: I got a brand new job. I left Charlotte Russe in April after two amazing years. It was sad to let go of a job that I loved so much, but it was time to let it go. I started working as a barista at Starbucks! That’s right, ya girl is serving you coffee with a smile every weekday morning. I will say, its one of the more difficult jobs I’ve had, but it’s actually incredibly rewarding. I may complain a lot about it, but I genuinely do love starting everyone’s day off with a smile and a grande white mocha. The company has a lot of great benefits and flexibility with scheduling, which is great for what will lead me to my next major thing…

YA GIRL GOT HER FIRST PROFESSIONAL ACTING GIG! I was hired to be a part of ShoWagon with Theatre Memphis. This job is something I’ve been seeking out since I graduated over a year ago. When I found out the the program was being reinstated, I was thrilled and absolutely had to audition. We’ll get started on all of our major projects this fall, but I am just so excited and honored to be chosen for this opportunity. It feels like a dream job.

Another really cool thing that happened was writing my very first play?? AND HAVING IT PERFORMED??? That was truly an insane experience. My dear friend Jamie and her sister Rae decided to start the first all-womyn’s theatre collective in Memphis, known as FEMMemphis. For their first major event, they chose to do a 48 hour play festival. Jamie approached me about the event and of course, I was stoked and would totally be down. When she asked me if I wanted to be a writer, I was a little wary. I had never written a play. All I had was this little blog here (Hiee!) and that was the closest I came to ever considering myself a writer. But in the end, I decided to take the plunge and it was well worth it. It was crazy terrifying, but I was proud of myself for simply putting my work out there. Was my very first play perfect? Absolutely not. It definitely has some kinks to be worked out, but like I said, the experience of writing something and having it read aloud was something I won’t forget,

A year ago, after having graduated college, I was really terrified of what I was gonna do. I knew I wanted to move to Chicago. I knew I wanted to save money. But honestly, I’ve had some amazing artistic opportunities right in my home of the 901. I just got to perform my favorite Shakespearean comedy, Much Ado About Nothing, in Arlington. The town where I first fell in love with theatre. I’ve had the chance to direct for kids at Grizz Prep, part of the Grizzlies Mentoring Program. I got to be in a MUSIC VIDEO!

I was extremely worried about not having many artistic opportunities after graduating. Boy, was I wrong. I am so happy with how much I’ve been embraced by this amazing community of artists. I am so proud and honored to be a part of the Memphis theatre community.

I’ve learned to focus on all of the wonderful things I do have, rather than sit and worry about the things I don’t have. You gotta seek out what makes you happy, fam. Depression can still get to me and bring me down, but sometimes you just gotta tell it to hit the door. It’ll leave when it wants to, but it will leave eventually.

Be appreciative for what you have now. You may not be altogether right now, and thats okay. Just keep blooming and growing, you beautiful human. You’re gonna be okay.

I’m gonna try to write at least one blog a week, so keep an eye out for ya girl’s site! And also, I often get stuck and get that mean old case of writer’s block. If you have any ideas for things you’d like me to write about, PLEASE let me know!

 

Thanks for reading, fam.

All the love,

Court. ❤

 

Leave a comment